Innsbruck, Austria » City Info » Visa Requirements

Austria is a signatory to the 1995 Schengen Agreement. To get a Schengen Visa and if you intend to visit one Schengen country or want to visit Innsbruck, you must apply at the Embassy or Consulate of that particular country.
Schengen Visas
The Schengen visas are valid for the following European States :
Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxemburg, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.
1) If the applicant plans to visit only one Schengen country, he/she should apply for a visa at the Consulate of that country.
2) If the applicant plans to visit more than one Schengen countries he/she should apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country of main destination (according to the length of stay.)
3) If the applicant plans to stay the same length of time in each Schengen country or is unable to determine the country of main destination (that of longest stay), then he/she should apply for a visa at the Consulate of the country through which he/she first enters the Schengen territory.
4) The duration of the Schengen visas, valid for the above mentioned countries, can be from l to maximum 90 days.
Citizens of following countries require a visa to enter Austria:
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan
Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina-Faso, Burundi
Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comores, Congo (Republic), Congo (Democratic Republic), Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba
Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic
Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ehtiopia, Fiji
Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana
Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan
Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic, North), Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan
Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya
Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar
Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria
Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines
Qatar, Russian Federation, Rwanda
Samoa, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia & Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, | Syria, St. Lucia, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Vincent & Grenadines
Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu
Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan
Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Valid passport required by all except nationals of EU countries, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, San Marino and Switzerland who may enter with a valid national ID card.
Required documents for visa:
(a) Completed application form(s).
(b) Passport valid for at least 3 months longer than the validity of the visa applied for.
(c) Fee (cash or postal order only); cheques, except certified bankers drafts, are not accepted.
(d) Two passport photographs.
(e) For transit passengers, the visa from the destination country must be obtained first.
(f) Proof of intention to return to home country. (return ticket or vehicle papers if returning by car.)
(g) Letter from employer, university or school indicating reason for visit.
(h) Proof of sufficient financial means to fund stay in Austria. Applicants can submit travellers cheques, a confirmed hotel booking, bank statements or records from a similar financial institution.
(i) An all risk medical insurance policy covering duration of visa.
(j) Postal applicants should enclose a self-addressed, prepaid envelope (registered or recorded delivery) for the return of the passport.

Please note: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.